RESOLUTION

OF THE NINETEENTH AIPO GENERAL ASSEMBLY

IN KUALA LUMPUR

ON THE

SOUTHEAST ASIA NUCLEAR WEAPON FREE ZONE (SEANWFZ)

The 19th General Assembly:

Affirming that the SEANWFZ is a component of ASEAN's vision to transform the region into a zone of peace, freedom and neutrality, and that its establishment will contribute toward strengthening the security of states within the Zone and towards enhancing international peace and security;

Emphasizing the importance of the SEANWFZ Treaty in advancing the regional and global goals of the nuclear disarmament;

Recalling that the SEANWFZ signatories are committed to general and complete disarmament of nuclear weapons, and to the promotion of international peace and security;

Recognizing that the SEANWFZ Treaty is the first treaty signed by all leaders of the ten countries comprising Southeast Asia;

Recognizing further that the support of the nuclear weapon states is essential for the SEANWFZ Treaty to gain maximum effectiveness;

Noting the increase in number of nuclear weapon free zones in different regions of the world, the 19th AIPO General Assembly stresses the upholding of the spirit, principle and objective of the 1971 Asean Declaration to establish this region as the Zone of Peace Freedom and Neutrality (ZOPFAN);

Resolves to:

Call on all nuclear weapon states to support ASEAN's endeavours for nuclear weapon free zone;

Urge ASEAN member countries to work closely with nuclear weapon states on issues affecting nuclear weapon non-proliferation and disarmament.

Dates this 26th day of August 1998.